SEPULTURA Beneath The Remains – Vinyl 2xLP (black)


Roadrunner Records

Out of stock

SEPULTURA Beneath The Remains – Vinyl 2xLP (black)

Pressing info : 2020 repress on black vinyl 2xLP. Gatefold sleeve.

Sepultura’s major-label debut on Roadrunner Records, Beneath the Remains, had a deep impact on metal music when it came out in 1989. Widely regarded today as a thrash-metal classic, the album perfectly distilled the Brazilian band’s potent mix of piercing melodies and pummeling rhythms.

In December 1988, brothers Max (guitar/vocals) and Igor Cavalera (drums), Paulo Jr. (bass) and Andreas Kisser (guitar) recorded Beneath the Remains in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil with producer Scott Burns. Soon after its release in April 1989, the album was hailed by fans and critics alike for standout songs like “Inner Self,” “Primitive Future” and the title track. The album has been remastered especially for this collection.

The Deluxe Edition features nine unreleased “mixdown” recordings taken from the Beneath the Remains sessions at Nas Nuvens Studios in Rio de Janeiro. Highlights include versions of “Lobotomy” and “Mass Hypnosis,” as well as instrumental versions “Slaves Of Pain” and “Sarcastic Existence.”

The studio tracks are complemented by unreleased recordings of the band performing live on September 22, 1989 at the Zeppelinhalle, West Germany. The concert features songs from Beneath the Remains (“Primitive Future” and “Inner Self”) and the band’s previous albums (“Troops Of Doom” and “Escape To The Void”), along with covers of Black Sabbath’s “Symptom Of the Universe” and the Dead Kennedys “Holiday In Cambodia.”

LP1: Remaster 2019 de l’album original
Face 1:
1. “Beneath the Remains”
2. “Inner Self”
3. “Stronger Than Hate”
4. “Mass Hypnosis”
Face 2:
1. “Sarcastic Existence”
2. “Slaves of Pain”
3. “Lobotomy”
4. “Hungry”
5. “Primitive Future”

LP 2 : The Rio/Nas Nuvens Recordings, avant the Florida Sessions
Face 1:
1. “Beneath the Remains” (Mixdown) *
2. “Inner Self” (Mixdown) – Instrumental *
3. “Stronger Than Hate” (Mixdown) – Instrumental *
4. “Mass Hypnosis” (Mixdown) *
5. “Troops Of Doom” – (Live 9/22/89) *
Face 2:
1. “Sarcastic Existence” (Mixdown) – Instrumental *
2. “Slaves Of Pain” (Mixdown) – Instrumental *
3. “Lobotomy” (Mixdown) *
4. “Hungry” (Mixdown) – Instrumental *
5. “Primitive Future” (Mixdown) *
* inédit